What is covered on CeMAP 2 and 3 courses?

To practise mortgage advice here in the UK, future brokers must have a sound knowledge of their subject and a certification that is recognised by regulatory bodies like the Financial Conduct Authority (FCA).

When taking the first steps towards their new profession, would-be brokers will find that Certificate in Mortgage and Practice (CeMAP) courses are an ideal solution to both these requirements. A CeMAP 1 course gives students an overview of their chosen profession, where they can gain a foundation to build on. From available products to the legislation and regulations covering practising mortgage advice, CeMAP 1 is an exceptional start for new brokers in training.

Following this initial course, candidates can then go on to develop their understanding of offering mortgage advice and learn new skills with CeMAP 2 and 3.

CeMAP 2 and 3

CeMAP 2 and 3 are designed to enable trainee mortgage brokers to advance their knowledge with a more in-depth study of practising mortgage advice than in CeMAP 1. Entitled “Mortgages”, advisors will discover the CeMAP 2 course has been divided into four different units that continue sequentially from Unit 2, where they left off when finishing their CeMAP 1 course.

Commencing with Unit 3, the CeMAP 2 course looks at four key areas – Practice, Policy, https://www.beaconfinancialtraining.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2020/06/cemap-online-and-classroom-training-uk.jpgets and Mortgage Law. In Unit 4, students move on to the topic of mortgage applications, where they will gain detailed experience of the different forms of documentation devised for mortgages so they can assist their clients when they are making submissions.

Unit 5 explains the various payment methods applicable to mortgages and takes a closer look at the extensive range of products available on the present market. Finally, in Unit 6, brokers in training will study mortgage arrears and other problems that may arise before completion, preparing them for potential obstacles and how to handle such situations effectively.

After CeMAP 2’s four units have been studied, the course is completed by students undertaking a 30-minute examination, which includes 25 different multiple choice questions.

Unlike CeMAP 2, the CeMAP 3 course includes only a single unit. An assessment of mortgage advice and knowledge – also known as Unit 7 – comprises a 120-minute long examination made up of six different case studies and 10 unique multiple choice questions where trainees can demonstrate what they have learnt.

Putting your CeMAP qualification into practice

After successfully completing all three of the dedicated CeMAP courses, mortgage brokers in the making will be ready to begin giving qualified mortgage advice to their clients. Companies hiring brokers, such as building societies, mortgage firms and banks, recognise a CeMAP qualification as a mark of distinction, indicating an in-depth understanding of mortgages and offering advice.

Acquiring your CeMAP mortgage advisor qualification

An Accredited Learning Support Provider (ALSP) of the London Institute of Banking & Finance, Beacon Financial Training delivers a full range of CeMAP study courses to students across the country. Contact our friendly team of professionals today to explore both classroom-based courses and convenient home-learning options, both of which are fully supported by comprehensive course materials and expert tutors.


Studying at Home

Related Posts

CeMAP Course Online pop up
Update cookies preferences