If you are a UK based mortgage advisor who wants to advance their career, studying for The Certificate in Mortgage Advice and Practice (CeMAP) is a great way to do it.

The qualification is recognised by the Financial Conduct Authority (FCA), and is accredited by the Qualifications and Curriculum Authority (QCA). Those with the qualification can give mortgage advice to clients in the UK, and do so legally. The CeMAP qualification makes you more attractive to potential employers.

What is covered by CeMAP?

This is a comprehensive course, which covers the subject of mortgages in great depth. There are seven mandatory modules to be completed and you will have to take three exams.

Module 1 – UK financial regulation

There are two units in this first module. The first unit covers the subject of tax and investments as well as pensions and savings. Mortgages are briefly covered, but it is module 2 that covers that subject in depth.

Unit 2 covers the way that financial services are regulated in the UK. It looks at every aspect of that regulation, and included are the rules that cover data protection, money laundering prevention and a range of other subjects.

Module 2 – Mortgages

Module 2 gives you the in-depth knowledge you need to be able to give out good advice to each client regardless of their circumstances. This module is divided into four subject areas – mortgage law, the application process, the different types of repayment methods and dealing with issues after completion.

Module 3 – Case studies

This module seeks to embed the knowledge learned in Module 2 and test comprehension Module 3 uses case studies. Students are asked to assess each case study and work out what advice is appropriate in that situation. This is the main way that the student’s knowledge is assessed.

The exams

The majority of the exams feature multiple choice questions. Most of the maths-related questions are simple division, adding and subtraction. However, a reasonable grasp of maths is helpful. The case study assessment is also a part of the examination process.

Further study and qualifications

Once you have successfully completed CeMAP you can then go on and study further. It becomes possible for you to take the Diploma in Mortgage Advice and Practice (DipMAP) and the Certificates in Regulated Equity Release (CeRER). Many students use getting these qualifications as a stepping stone into offering other forms of financial and insurance related advice.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.